About the Association for Computing Machinery’s AM Turing Award

An investor with Driftt and Taptalk, Florian “Flo” Leibert has served as the chief executive officer of high-tech software company Mesosphere, Inc., since 2013. As a committed member of his industry, Florian Leibert is a member of the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM).

With more than 100,000 members in different institutions throughout the globe, the Association for Computing Machinery was founded in 1947. Providing leadership, advocacy, and standards for the industry, the ACM sponsors almost 200 conferences each year in fields such as knowledge discovery, data mining, and high performance computing. The association is divided into three chapter types to best serve its wide-ranging, international member groups: professional chapters, student chapters, and special interest group chapters.

Throughout the year, the Association for Computing Machinery gives its members and other notable figures in the industry a number of scholarships and awards, including the AM Turing Award, its top honor. Named for the British computer scientist and mathematician, Alan Mathison Turing, the award is also known as the Nobel Prize of Computing. Given annually since 1966, the award is presented at the ACM’s spring banquet and is open to people who have made remarkable and trend-setting contributions to their field. It was most recently awarded to Michael Stonebraker for his work with modern database systems.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s